Smuggling parcels into Iran

Border crossings are always a bit special. Sometimes you get through really quick, other times it takes a full day. Always are people around doing shady businesses. When I arrived at the Azerbaijan-Iran border there have been those little parvels standing all along the road. It did not took long before the first guy approached me, asking if I would like to take one of those parcels. No thanks, not in the mood for this shit. What, you don‘t want money? Right. I just want to be left alone. Around three times this happened, before I actually arrived at the border. I was slightly annoyed already. Continue reading

Hitchhiking in… (19) the USA

Hitchhiking in the USA was one of the biggest disappointments of my whole trip. You think about Kerouac, how he hitchhiked from Denver to SanFran. You want to explore the root of the hippie culture. You expect the US to be THE country for hitchhiking. But this is not the case. I wandered many months through the USA. In the beginning I didn‘t like it at all, but after some time I became friends with this strange US-culture. Regarded to hitchhiking my opinion is clear: The USA are one of the most tiring and annoying countries I have hitchhiked in so far. Not recommended. Hitchhiking in the USA sucks. Which makes the country not less interesting. Quite the contrary. Continue reading

Zucchi – Memories of a Hitchhiking Zucchini

This summer I made the trip of my lifetime. I am a Zucchi the hitchhiking Zucchini. I want to share my memories with you. Memories of a strange and beautiful life.

I was born in the Lithuanian countryside, but moved to the city when I was very young. My father was a farmer and my mother a proud Zucchini motherplant with lots of children. I left my family, when I was six weeks old, to become part of a Tortilla party. Getting sliced into some delicious stuffing and feed some humans. But things went different. I made friends. Human friends. And they were going to do some strange thing called „hitchhiking“. I was invited. Continue reading

Georgian Hospitality – Why I stop drinking

Gravity is one of the four fundamental forces in physics. It describes that two things with mass always come onto each other, whereas the force is decreased with increasing distance. But gravity has unlimited range and can‘t be shielded. A universal law that describes movement of planets and the emergence of galaxies. Almost the same, fundamental importance for human existence has the following natural law: If there are Georgians within the range of vision or earshot, while you are having a meal, then you gotta booze. Caucasian Gravity Theory. Continue reading

Three days awake – Hitchhiking through Kazakhstan (2)

It was evening. Hitchhiking still worked well. I got a ride with a Taxi. Not the first time in Kazakhstan. A woman gave me half of a chicken and sausage. And then, it was already night time, I found myself in the car with Rassia and Russia. Typical crazy nightride. The road became incredibly bad and I realized, that i would have 400 km of that in front of me. It was around 00:00 and we stopped for a little snack. Russia insisted to invite me. After eating we dropped his friend in the next city and went of alone. Me him and his daughter. Continue reading

Three days awake – Hitchhiking through Kazakhstan (1)

It was a sunny day in beautiful Almaty, when I was going to start my next route. I would go 3700 km through Kazakhstan. Before I had to leave my original plan to cross Central Asia and hitchhike the Pamyr Highway. The visas for Turkmenistan, Tadschikistan and Uzbekistan would have cost me some hundred Euros and the bureaucratic effort to get them was a bit to much for me. I just don’t have the energy anymore to deal with shit like that after 20 months traveling. Another time. And so my B-Plan took place. Hitchhiking all across Kazakhstan and crossing the Caspian Sea with a cargo boat. It would mean I have another paid transportation, but It is still cheaper than doing all the visas and much less effort. So fuck it. Continue reading

Tribute to Patrick Falterman

I met Patrick, while traveling through Texas. Some of you might remember, that I hitched my first airplane. That was with him. I mean, it was not really hitched, rather he offered me a ride through half of America, because he needed additional hours for his pilot license. It is always a pleasure, if you come from a long trip and you can give something back. For me it was as well something special and it will definitely remain. My first Aerohitch, that was you Patrick Faltermann. Continue reading

Hitchhiking around the world

My cat, his name is „Herr Anton“, has the habit to leave home from time to time. Nobody knows where he is going. Nobody knows what he is doing. Just vagabonding through the world for a couple of days, until he reappears totally disheveled in front of the door, as if nothing would have happened. We are similar in this characteristic. Continue reading

Grenzpaketschmuggeln in den Iran

Grenzübergänge sind immer eine Sache für sich. Kann schnell gehen. Kann länger dauern. Fast immer irgendwelche Menschen Vor-Ort die halbseidene Geschäfte durchführen. Als ich an die azerbaidschanisch-iranische Grenze kam, habe ich überall am Straßenrand diese Pakete rum stehen sehen. Ein erster Mann spricht mich an, ob ich eines dieser Pakete mit über die Grenze nehmen will. Gibt auch Geld dafür. Ne, lass mal, gerade keinen Bock. Wie, du willst kein Geld? Richtig. Ich wollte eher meine Ruhe. Das ging dann drei mal so, noch bevor ich am aktuellen Grenzübergang angekommen bin. Continue reading

Trampen in… (19) den USA

Das Trampen in den USA war eine der großen Enttäuschung meiner Reise. Ihr denkt an Kerouac, wie er von Denver nach San Francisco trampte. Wollt zum Ursprung der Hippiekultur. Erwartet die USA als DAS Land zum Trampen. Aber meine Erwartungen haben sich nicht erfüllt. Ich war mehrere Monate in den USA unterwegs. Am Anfang hat es mir dort überhaupt nicht gefallen, aber mit der Zeit habe ich mich dann doch angefreundet, mit dieser sonderbaren, amerikanischen Kultur. In Bezug auf das Trampen fällt meine Wertung zu den USA jedoch eindeutig aus: Es ist eines der anstrengendsten Länder, in denen ich bisher getrampt bin. Keine Empfehlung von mir. Trampen in den USA ist Scheiße. Es macht das Land jedoch nicht weniger interessant. Ganz im Gegenteil. Continue reading

Georgische Gastfreundlichkeit – Absagung an den Alkohol

Die Gravitationskraft ist eine der vier Grundkräfte der Physik. Es geht im Grunde darum, dass zwei Massen sich immer gegenseitig anziehen, wobei die Anziehungskraft mit größerer Entfernung abnimmt. Die Gravitationskraft besitzt unbegrenzte Reichweite und lässt sich nicht abschirmen. Ein universelles Gesetz, dass die Bewegung von Planeten und die Entstehung von Galaxien beschreibt. Ungefähr die gleiche, fundamentale Bedeutung für die menschliche Existenz besitzt das folgende Naturgesetz: Wenn sich georgische Mitmenschen in Sicht- oder Hörweite befinden, während ihr gerade eine Mahlzeit zu euch nehmt, dann wird gesoffen. Kaukasische Gravitationstheorie. Continue reading

Drei Tage wach – Trampen durch Kasachstan (2)

Es wurde Abend. Trampen lief immernoch gut. Ich wurde von einem Taxi mitgenommen. Nicht das erste mal in Kasachstan. Eine Frau schenkte mir ein halbes Hühnchen und Wurst. Ich merkte, dass ich langsam in problematische Gegenden kam. Zur Nacht hatte ich ein komisches Gefühl. Das war mir alles zu dorfig. Kein Verkehr. Und irgendwann saß ich mit Rassia und Russia im Auto. Typischer Nachtlift. Die Straße wurde mitlerweile sehr schlecht und ich hatte noch 400 km von dieser Piste vor mir. Es war schon 00:00 Uhr Nachts. Kleiner Snack zwischendurch und dann weiter. Wir luden Russia ab und ich fuhr mit Rassia weiter. Continue reading

Drei Tage wach – Trampen durch Kasachstan (1)

Es war ein sonniger Tag im schönen Almaty, welcher meine nächste Route einläuten sollte. Es ging 3700 km durch Kasachstan. Den ursprünglichen Plan, durch Zentralasien zu trampen, hatte ich aufgegeben, da die Visas für Usbekistan, Turkmenistan und Tadschikistan insgesamt mehrere hundert Euros gekostet hätten, verbunden mit einem bürokratischen Kraftakt, den ich nach 20 Monaten auf der Straße nicht mehr über mich ergehen lassen wollte. Auch meinen Traum über den Pamyr Highway zu trampen, habe ich aufgegeben. Ein andermal. Es gab einen Plan-B. Einmal quer durch Kaschstan trampen und für 80$ ein Containerschiff nach Aserbaidschan nehmen. Das heißt zwar, ich bezahle für eine weitere Passage, aber alles andere würde mich noch mehr kosten und wäre den Aufwand nicht wert. Continue reading

Tribute to Patrick Faltermann

Ich hab Patrick getroffen, als ich in Texas war. Einige werden sich vielleicht an daran erinnern, als ich das Erste mal in meinem Leben mit einem Flugzeug getrampt bin. Das war mit ihm. So wirklich getrampt war es ja nicht, weil ich Patrick schon vorher kannte und er mir die Tour angeboten hat. Für ihn war es eine besondere Freude, dass er einem anderen Tramper einen Lift in seinem kleinen Flugzeug geben konnte. Es ist immer eine Freude, wenn man lange auf der Straße war und endlich mal etwas zurückgeben kann. Für mich war es auch etwas ganz Besonderes und das wird es auch immer bleiben. Mein erster Aerohitch, das warst du mein lieber Patrick Faltermann. Continue reading

Weltumtrampung

Mein Kater, sein Name ist Herr Anton, hat die Angewohnheit auszureißen. Er zieht los. Keiner weiß wohin er geht. Niemand weiß was er tut. Er streunt für einige Tage in der Welt herum und steht letztendlich völligst zerzaust wieder vor der Tür, als wäre nichts gewesen. Er ist eben ein Entdecker. Ähnlich wie ich. Continue reading

Grundlagen zur Positionierung beim Trampen

Positionierung ist eine essenzielle und wichtige Handlung während des Trampens. Der Erfolg beim Trampen hängt auch von eurer Fähigkeit ab, eine gute Position zu finden. Je nach dem, wo ihr euch positioniert, habt ihr bessere oder schlechtere Mitnahmechancen. Oft macht es Sinn lieber 1-2 km auf eine gute Position zu laufen und einen schnellen Lift abzufangen, als zu warten, wo ihr seid. Continue reading